Rebirth::Collective is a Belgian jazz band, founded by trombone player Dree Peremans in 2010.  The group is an octet – five horns and rhythm section (piano/upright bass/drums), and functions as a small bigband, with compositions and arrangements written mainly by its leader.  Sound- and stylewise it builds from the hard-swinging tradition of bebop and hardbop of the fifties and sixties, yet with a modern and youthful twist.  Due to the individual solo qualities of all of its members, combined with the power of the eight-piece ensemble and a versatile rhythm section, the music develops from sensitive open-ended ballad playing to burning up-tempos, or soulful groovy moments and exciting solo battles.  All of this results in an entertaining mix that leaves the audience very excited and wanting more.

Rebirth::Collective has been ‘Artist in Residence’ in one of Belgium’s best known jazz clubs, Café Hopper in Antwerp, for several years now.


  • ‘Rebirth::Collective’ (2013)
  • ‘Raincheck’ featuring Jesse van Ruller (2016)
  • ‘Witchcraft’ (2017)

Line-up :

Dree Peremans – trombone, compositions & arrangements

Jo Hermans – trumpet

Bruno Vansina – alto saxophone

Wietse Meys – tenor saxophone

Joppe Bestevaar – baritone saxophone

Ewout Pierreux – piano

Jos Machtel – bass

Matthias De Waele – drums